Upside down, Everywhere and Going Nowhere!

IMG_4648September 9, 2013.

We’ve just returned from the closing and are giddy as we are about to cross the threshold, right foot first of our new home.  Fortunately, we a re never really privy to what lies ahead, because our right minds would tell us to stay put, don’t dare, it’s a tough ride and hey, things aren’t so bad the way they are, right?  I don’t know if that’s the ‘right’ mind talking or not, but it is  pretty persuasive.  And as I write this next post, I’m not out of the dizzying questioning battle with this mind, right or not.  I seem to be making enough headway to share the next crazy chapter.

Within twenty four hours, I looked more like this:IMG_4657Kind of a quick swing.  There are just no words for the overwhelming power of this experience.  Inside of one day,  I left a huge place empty, and sparkling clean, only to enter small place caught in the path of a tornado.

IMG_4653Just the tip of the iceberg…hang with me and my weather metaphors!

IMG_4651I haven’t shown you the over packed garage whose doors couldn’t close, or the storage unit we filled and thankfully succumbed to.

Just plain shock was the mood of the next two weeks.  Where did all this stuff come from after we thought we had rid ourselves of so much?  I tell you, when they ask me now if I want a bag for my purchase, or offer to send me home with another paint chart, I just say ‘NO’…thank you.  Every extra piece of non essential material brings back that overturned feeling in my stomach when I looked at all we had to find space for.

IMG_4674 Order, my new favorite word, was making brief appearances.  The kitchen was slowly getting unpacked and items shuffled off to their designated corners.  This saving grace nestled right into the only corner of the room, had me bow every time I passed it  for bringing Order to a reverential high!

IMG_4671

IMG_4670Boxes are mostly gone in the kitchen so a view through to the end of the living room  is possible.  Lots of stuff still looking for a home.  Some days, I think the same for me.  I wake up and wonder where I am.  I walk down the stairs in the morning and my feet don’t know these steps. I have no routine to use as a hand rail.  I realize I have lived in my previous home longer than I have lived anywhere else, so this disorientation should not be surprising…but it is.

IMG_4676It’s September 24 today, a day shy of two weeks since we moved.  Only on the surface do things look like they are coming together, but I’m not looking a gift horse in the mouth.  I’ll take anything that has the semblance of tidy and neat.  It’s a brain thing that reassures the humble human that some modicum of control is within reach, and I’m not too proud to grab hold with all my might.  I’m in control deprivation mode right now…..scaaaary.

IMG_4677

September 27:  The “Black Dirt Guy” comes and delivers a truck load of garden manure.  Yes!  This feels familiar and comforting and down to earth!  Earlier, I went to the dump and gathered piles of old newspaper, wet it down and spread it over the 18×30′ garden plot.  The next day I came home, the sun had dried the newspaper , the wind had come up and scattered it all over the lawn.  Two hours later I had gathered it, re-spread it, and reasserted just who’s Boss!  By the way, that’s not the one sitting in the chair!IMG_4681IMG_4679First laundry hung out on my newly strung line!

IMG_4684Even found time to braid and store the onions I grew this summer at the farm.  This was the best day, what I love most, getting things done!  Garden set, laundry drying outdoors and a little time to reap the harvest! YES!  And it is the last weekend in September.

IMG_4693Time to close with this little peek at what October has in store for us.  Bright sunny days are real handy when my inside sun is struggling to shine.  My clouds pass quickly and my weather is unpredictable,  and it is only one month since we moved.

Basically, I like change.  I bring an optimistic nature to it, mostly thinking that change is exciting and full of goodness.  Maybe that’s why I fall so hard when the change, at least short term, uproots me and feels scary.  I was expecting fun!

The upside to being older is knowing that there is a larger stage that all this is playing out on.  When I focus in on my little part, I can’t see the whole story.  Then the narrator, like the guy in “Our Town” taps me on the shoulder and reminds me that all is well in Grover’s Corner’s

About eggsinmybasket

I am a woman with many eggs in my basket. I love exploring memoir writing, watercolor painting, knitting, bread baking, organic gardening, creative cooking, living in Maine, walking in nature and loving my family, kitties and chicks.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Upside down, Everywhere and Going Nowhere!

  1. lstein@fairpoint.net says:

    WELL DONE! You have presented such a picture of your life within the move. I now see why your were overwhelmed eith all the boxes on every surface and beyond. And how fitting you end with your signature touch of creativity and lovliness on the front porch. You are a true artist my friend.

    It just dawned on me that Bob is 75 when I saw hi birthday announcement in Facebook. He is doing so well; makes 75 look downright sexy, that one.

    So what time wouldyou like to come over on MOnday? It’s your call. I’m usually up early, even on days off. I have tons of cabbage (mostly regualr but some chinese), garlic, fish sauce, chili sauce (Thai not korean-does it matter?) but need to get ginger, corase salt and daikon raddish. Unless you have a plethora of any of those and want to bring them. I Ihave carrots, too, even though they are shrimpy. I wonder if parsnips would be good?

    For verderette, we needs onion family, greens, herbs and root crops. I”m a littel short of herbs because they froze but I do have parsley, dill and wild marjoram (the stuff you gave me years ago). So if you have any extra veg that might go begging if you do’t use it, bring it along too.

    Gonna be fun!

    It’s turned cold at last and I’m starting to think about pie and T-giving. Getting a little anxious about cooking. How I hate that. Expectations. Mainly my own. for perfection. or at least tasteiness. Is that a word?

    I think I”ve decided not to go to the chi gong (can’t spell that right!) workshop. It’s just not pulling hard enough. I want to buy x-mas presents for the kids instead cause I haven’t done that for a couple of years.

    Your new house looks so bright and beautiful in the pictures. I hope you are beginning to feel comfortable in it, that i’ts your home.

    love, l Original email:

  2. Diane says:

    Please remember all of your friends are in your basket with you. Love & hugs as we travel this journey together. Di

  3. Wendi says:

    You captured the inner and outer struggle as you move from your old, familiar sense of order and purpose to a different one….I too notice more of a need for order, simplicity and control as we get older…The pictures from the beginning to the end of your latest entry proves that you are moving beautifully (even if it hasn’t seemed gracefully to you) towards making your new place a reflection of the warmth, creativity and comfort for which you are aiming….It already looks like the Richardsons are HOME! Love the colors in the kitchen!

    Love to both of you!
    Wendall

  4. Suellen says:

    Reblogged this on Artist of the Everyday and commented:
    Here’s the latest chapter in THE BIG MOVE as Susan captures the trials and joys of moving and creating a new HOME. Although she may not be feeling it at this moment in time, I am confident that her love, warmth and creativity will spill out into this house and make it a place where everyone wants to be!

Leave a Reply

